

### $\mathsf{THE}$

# NEW ZEALAND GAZETTE

## **EXTRAORDINARY**

Published by Authority

#### WELLINGTON: THURSDAY, 12 DECEMBER 1957

Resignation of Members of the Executive Council and of Ministers

His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to accept the resignation of

The Right Honourable Keith Jacka Holyoake, holding a seat in the Executive Council and the offices of Prime Minister and Minister of Maori Affairs;

The Honourable John Ross Marshall, holding a seat in the Executive Council and the offices of Attorney-General and Minister of Justice;

The Honourable Jack Thomas Watts, holding a seat in the Executive Council and the office of Minister of Finance;

The Right Honourable Sir Sidney Holland, G.C.B., C.H., holding a seat in the Executive Council;

The Honourable Ronald Macmillan Algie, holding a seat in the Executive Council and the office of Minister of Education;

The Honourable William Stanley Goosman, holding a seat in the Executive Council and the offices of Minister of Works and Minister of Transport;

The Honourable Thomas Lachlan Macdonald, holding a seat in the Executive Council and the offices of Minister of External Affairs and Minister of Island Territories;

The Honourable Dame Grace Hilda Ross, holding a seat in the Executive Council and the office of Minister of Social

The Honourable Sidney Walter Smith, holding a seat in the Executive Council and the offices of Minister of Agriculture and Minister of Internal Affairs;

The Honourable Dean Jack Eyre, holding a seat in the Executive Council and the office of Minister of Defence;

The Honourable Eric Henry Halstead, holding a seat in the Executive Council and the offices of Minister of Industries and Commerce and Minister of Customs;

The Honourable Josiah Ralph Hanan, holding a seat in the Executive Council and the offices of Minister of Health and Minister of Immigration;

The Honourable John Kenneth McAlpine, holding a seat in the Executive Council and the offices of Minister of Railways, Minister of Labour, and Minister of Mines;

The Honourable Thomas Philip Shand, holding a seat in the Executive Council and the office of Postmaster-General and Minister of Telegraphs;

The Honourable Richard Geoffrey Gerard, holding a seat in the Executive Council and the offices of Minister of Lands, Minister of Forests, and Minister of Marine; and

The Honourable John Rae, holding a seat in the Executive Council and the office of Minister of Housing. Dated at Wellington this 12th day of December 1957.

By Command-D. E. FOUHY, Official Secretary.

Members of the Executive Council Appointed

His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

The Right Honourable Walter Nash,

The Honourable Clarence Farringdon Skinner, M.C.,

The Honourable Arnold Henry Nordmeyer,

The Honourable Henry Greathead Rex Mason, Q.c.,

The Honourable Frederick Hackett,

The Honourable William Arthur Fox, The Honourable Hugh Watt,

The Honourable Eruera Tinema Tirikatene, The Honourable Phillip George Connolly, D.S.C., V.R.D.,

The Honourable Michael Moohan,

The Honourable Philip North Holloway,

The Honourable Philip Oscar Selwyn Skoglund,

The Honourable Mabel Bowden Howard,

The Honourable John Mathison,

The Honourable Raymond Boord, and

The Honourable William Theophilus Anderton

to be members of the Executive Council of New Zealand; and the above-named have taken the oath of office accordingly.

Dated at Wellington this 12th day of December 1957.

T. J. SHERRARD, Clerk of the Executive Council.

#### Ministers Appointed

His Excellency the Governor-General has been pleased to appoint

The Right Honourable Walter Nash, to be Prime Minister, Minister of External Affairs, and Minister of Mabri Affairs;

The Honourable Clarence Farringdon Skinner, M.C., to be Minister of Agriculture and Minister of Lands;
The Honourable Arnold Henry Nordmeyer, to be Minister

The Honourable Henry Greathead Rex Mason, Q.C., to be Attorney-General, Minister of Justice, and Minister of Health;

The Honourable Frederick Hackett, to be Minister of Labour, Minister of Mines, and Minister of Immigration; The Honourable William Arthur Fox, to be Minister of Marine and Minister of Housing;

The Honourable Hugh Watt, to be Minister of Works;

The Honourable Eruera Tihema Tirikatene, to be Minister

The Honourable Eruera Tihema Tirikatene, to be Minister of Forests;

The Honourable Phillip George Connolly, D.S.C., V.R.D., to be Minister of Defence;
The Honourable Michael Moohan, to be Minister of Railways and Postmaster-General and Minister of Telegraphs;
The Honourable Philip North Holloway, to be Minister of Industries and Commerce;
The Honourable Philip Oscar Selwyn Skoglund, to be Minister of Education;
The Honourable Mabel Bowden Howard, to be Minister of Social Security;
The Honourable John Mathison, to be Minister of Transport and Minister of Island Territories;
The Honourable Raymond Boord, to be Minister of Customs; and

toms: and ne Honourable William Theophilus Anderton, to be Minister of Internal Affairs.

Dated at Wellington this 12th day of December 1957.

By Command--

D. E. FOUHY, Official Secretary.